The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Early morning motivation

Leave a comment

So this happened yesterday morning:

before work!

I work 9am – 7pm in an office M-F. At minimum. My role is really more a 24/7 gig but I’m required to be at the office for those 10 hours everyday and often succeed it with lots of overtime. Needless to say, it’s not always easy to find gym time.  I’m much more of a 10pm exerciser than a 6am, so despite my good intentions of setting an early alarm it usually just equates to an extra hour of hitting the snooze button.

However, yesterday an international client decided to help motivate me:

only the clock read 4:30 am. 

After dealing with the crisis for a solid 2 hours I was ready to run. I knew there was no going back to sleep or I would never get back up. Plus, I saw the sun rise and it’s fully summer weather in NYC.

It wasn’t the longest or fastest or bestest {go with it} run but there’s something to be said about being part of the early morning crowd.  I now understand Ali‘s love of taking pictures of the East River.  But really it was this mantra from Tina that kept me going – the promise of an extra ice coffee from a new favorite cafe.

Side note: Picked up some cherries from a fruit cart on my cool down. Wasn’t really sure that I actually liked cherries but they’re amazingly fresh and delicious …besides the whole pit thing…that I could really do without.

Leave a Reply

