The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

The week (&1/2) that wasn’t : the attack of the snooze button

Leave a comment

I first started running in the morning the last week of June. The following week, July 4th, I made it my new habit … going for 12 days in a row for a mix of 3 -5 miles each day. Through heat & a ridiculously tight (strained?) calf muscle. My fear was that if I missed a day I would be throwing in the towel on this new program. Even though I know rest days & cross training are important.  I wasn’t committed to a training plan, I didn’t (don’t) even have a goal in mind …I just wanted to see if I could really make this stick. And I did for 27 runs for the month of July. I backed off a bit and did 14 runs in the first 3 weeks of August. And than stopped. Only I haven’t stopped, I’ve just had a week off….since August 22nd.

In July it was super hot, super sunny, super active. August hit and it started staying dark at 5am. I’m all for cooling down but waking up & running in the dark …well I hadn’t thought about that yet.

hmmm maybe I should try this tactic....

(pinterest)

And so fighting with the snooze button began…again. I have a 2nd alarm on my dresser as back up to my iPhone. That clock is now in the garbage after knocking it to the ground several times [I shouldn’t be allowed brake-able things]. I’m not giving up yet on the whole morning run thing. Heck, I even still woke up before 7am this week but took care of somethings instead.

I’d like to think of it as a recharge. And perhaps I should find a goal/plan to work on ?

__________________

Your turn:

Do you feel guilty for skipping several runs ?

I’m trying really hard not to so that I stay positive & want to get back out there

Are you a morning runner? 

Do you run outside?

How do you stay motivated once it starts getting dark?

Leave a Reply

