The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

{Weekend Recap}: School Night Adventures

Leave a comment

I usually play it low-key during the week. If I’m not working or at the gym I grab the chance to relax at home / work on things at home. Last week I changed it up a bit meeting up with various friends & trying out new restaurants. No guilt, no concerns, no stress. Living in the moment. It’s been awhile …need to try it more often! 

    My hamstrings are still sore a week later. And I didn’t come anywhere near reaching that pose …..but it was still a great class and much need.

    Thai food. It’s always a great atmosphere, good food, fairly healthy & a good price.

  Major fail on my part for not knowing what the book signing was for before going – I was just meeting up with friends. When I learned afterwards I realized I actually want to read the book!

Afterwards we went to grab a bite to eat, with two Italians you’re bound to end up at an Italian restaurant:


I don’t eat pasta very often (like at all) so when I do it’s usually prepared by someone else and has to be pretty enticing. Pumpkin Ravioli definitely was worth it. It kicked off my fall flavors …. I had soup {which I also never eat} the next day – butternut squash.

I went low after work. One of those hit-you-hard-have-you-curled-up-in-a-ball-wanting-sugar-all-night-to-feel-better lows. So when a friend’s delay in setting plans came to be 9pm I was done for the night, PJs were on, Hulu was in motion.  Of course I over treated & woke up with a high blood-sugar – killing plans for a morning run.

I had a light meal of steamed sushi dumplings & a cucumber roll for dinner b/c the main event was dessert (duh). Pretending I wasn’t a diabetic for a moment: I splurged – Cookie Dough Apple Cobbler. Oh my goodness – is this what I miss out on ?? Some extra units of insulin was well worth it (don’t judge). I actually over compensated & needed a snack by the time I got home. oof. Full.

I should have worn green. Or at least known who the game was against before hand. But it was fun to get caught up in team spirit & catch up with friends. 

_____________________________
Your turn:
Do you follow sports teams? 
What’s your favorite meal out? 
Are you more of a Friday night out or Saturday or both? 
My co-workers did the Tough Mudder race – anyone else ? 





Leave a Reply

