The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Operation “Fall apart / Pull it together”

Leave a comment

Since I declared I was going to run a marathon but have skipped all workouts minus a small victory of a morning run which was under 3 miles, let’s assess the situation:

Blood sugars : they hate me right now. So what do I do about that? Look for the patterns, evaluate recent eating habits (ahem – “dinner”) & tighten up my scheduling/get back into a routine. These are the big-ticket items – sleep & stress also play a factor but that rarely changes.

IT Band & Knee ( / injuries) : These hate me too right now. Mostly my IT bands are acting like I ran 10 miles and never stretched a day in my life. And my left knee just likes to remind me that it can be a pain. My calves reminded me that I live in a 5th floor walk up after I took them out for that jog Monday. (<— enough whining for ya?) So, how do I “fix” this? First: foam roll. (best.thing.ever.) along with the stick for targeting my calves (hurts so good). Second: Ice. Me and my ice pack have a close relationship.  Third: Strengthen training. This is the hard (read: discipline) part.

Exercise: If I skip Monday night yoga it’s usually a bad sign. Given my recent abuse of the snooze button in the morning, emotionally & mentally draining work environment and blood sugars bouncing all over the place my motivation…..has been laughing at me in the face.

{pin}

I know, I know. Shut up with the excuses, we all have them. How do I plan to smoother these excuses? By….setting….plans. Gasp. As someone who is extremely adaptable & flexible in nature, the type A rigid planning idea always seemed suffocating. I like control & organization but I don’t deal well with strict (enter only child syndrome). Instead of setting rules & restrictions I’m instead going to find “anchors” to help me set plans in action. 

Case in point: Running group Sunday with Urban Girl Squad & Athleta.

Also : Catching up with a co-worker outside of the office at a yoga class (we both need it!) this weekend. As well as an Urban Girl Squad & Pure yoga event Wednesday with another friend.

To do: set a (loose) strength building plan. Lots of squats for the IT band & hip strengtheners. Core work. And really, starting from square 1 with the arms so that’s wide open.

Running: I signed up with the Girls on the Run event December 10th. While that wont be a race it is something to look forward to and a deadline of sort. Thanksgiving is still a little up in the air otherwise I would like to do another Turkey Trot.

So it’s a start, lots to build on but the hint of goal setting. Again, all those pieces fit into the puzzle together quite nicely, it’s getting them to fit properly.

On another note, the I.M. Healthy Chocolate Soy Nutbutter…seriously ah-mazing.

___________________

Your turn:

Are you a goal setter? 

What treat are you crushing on recently?

Leave a Reply

