The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

{Weekend Recap}: Group Run & Exhale Yoga

Leave a comment

Sunday was another :

 + Group Run

This time, since there were less girls, they encouraged us to step up a group. Pretty sure I kept the same pace by moving from beginners to intermediate but instead of running pretty much solo with a coach, I go to talk marathons with a bunch of girls. It was pretty cool to hear from girls running NYC ’12 and go me too!

It was a good run, we kept up a conversation and it was under 3 miles – nothing crazy. However, the fact that I chugged a latte and didn’t eat anything before, mixed with the blood sugar mess, I had to walk the last 1/4 of a mile or so. My blood sugar ended up being high not low go figure.

I felt my calves tighten up towards the end of the run, which I thought was silly. By the time I was headed home I wanted to crawl back and I put my compression sleeves on as soon as I walked in the door.

I ran a few quick errands (meaning hitting my 5 flights of stairs a few times) before heading back to Central Park to meet a friend for my first Exhale Yoga class. I received a very generous gift certificate to Exhale at the same time I injured my shoulder so I’ve put off going to a class for quite a while. And I was straight up intimidated by Core Fusion after a co-worker (spinning nut & marathoner) told me it brought her to tears. So I decide to go easy for the first session.

Or so I thought.

In tomorrow’s Monday Night Yoga I’ll compare studio vs. gym and how an Slow Flow class kicked my butt (and hips….and back).

_________________________

Your turn:
Have you ever taken a Core Fusion class before?

What’s your favorite part of group runs? 

_________________________

Favorite Finds

Could you imagine being Bob Harper’s personal trainer?  | FBG

Leave a Reply

