The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Working the Holiday Spirit

Leave a comment

Whew. This week has had a lot going on.
And none of it involved exercise.
Which may be why my body is begging for a yoga class
(…or two…or three)
and a good sweat cardio session.

 

Part of all the activity has been various fanfare of holiday arrangements at work.
Client Gifts.
500 of them hand wrapped. With bows. And cards. And labels. 
Company Holiday Party.
RSVP list. Venue guidance. Coordination.
What to wear?!

 

I wanted sparkles.
I mean isn’t that partly what holiday parties are all about??

{pinterest}

 But after a very brief shopping expedition after late nights at the office I decided on this LBD from H&M – it looked good, it felt good…and I’d use it a million times over

 done deal! 

{iPhone}
Plus, the sparkles come in from the belt (that I wore with a LBD last year …. hey if the formula works…) and bling it out with some new earrings. Even sticking with basic black heels. I’m a champ at rushed shopping panics and buying quick cheap things, convincing myself that they work. I didn’t want more stuff that I’d never wear again.
 Going for the fun / no stress look this year. 

……

I just had way too many spoonfuls of Chocolate soynut butter.
That’s right : spoonfuls.
The perfect thing to have the night before you wear a super tight LBD.

……

Speaking of indulgence… I’ve only had 1 holiday cookie so far this season.
A co-worker brought it in. It was made by her mom. I had to.
I said I would save it…I saved it for about 5 whole minutes.
I had just finished my oatmeal.

……

Since I seem to be “confessing” … I wore my compression calf sleeves all day today. Did I mention how I haven’t run all week?
My legs are not happy. IT Bands are down right angry.
I have an appointment with my Orthopedic Surgeon. I have lots to discuss with him.
I hope he realizes that PT is not going to fit into the game plan anytime soon. 

……

Some how it’s already 10:30pm. I’m ready to pass out.
First time to put on some Krishna Das and do a few light downward dogs so that my legs forgive me when I put on heels tomorrow night.

________________

Your turn:

Have you had your company holiday party yet?

Do you enjoy company parties or are they stressful?

Do you wear sparkles during the holidays?

 

Leave a Reply

