The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Pass me the ball

Leave a comment

I played soccer from 7 – 12 grade and intramural in 5th & 6th. 

I spent a lot of time on the bench. 

I broke my arm in 7th grade by “tripping over the soccer ball”
(it was wet, I went to pull the ball back & I went forward).
I strained my MCL in 12th grade
(I shouldn’t have even been in the game, it was the last 10 min & I had been out sick from practice and it was one of our last games. I was turning to catch up with a girl that blew past me headed to the goal) 

A friend & old teammate suggested a league she had joined. Last year I couldn’t fit it in with work but with later games this season I decided to go for it. A little nervous of how competitive / all-star filled it would be , my theory was she saw me in my best attempts & struggles so how bad could it be. Plus I could always just be the benchwarmer for the league.

So when the email went out with details for the first game (last night) & my friend mentioned she couldn’t go my instant reaction:

wait whatttt??? I have to go alone??? I, but, oh no, awkward. 

But I couldn’t back out. Plus I’m 25, not going just because a friend wasn’t going – lame.

So I went. Slightly petrified. And definitely feeling awkward.

But guess what? No major blunders, no injuries & a some fun!

Plus we won.

 

So with late games, I thought that definitely ruled out attempts at Wednesday morning gym sessions.

It wasn’t the later bedtime that ruined it – a 4am low bloodsugar killed that idea on its own. 5:30 rolled around and 1/2 still feeling woozy & 1/2 sleeping led to a lot of snooze button hitting. It’s going to be a little tricky figuring out how to balance insulin, uncontrolled activity & dinner/no dinner situation.

{this would be totally dangerous for me and not be aligned with my #11 goal for 2012 }

The one #success was that I snuck in one round of this :

{pin}

Recently discovered that I can save a “pin” to my iPhone camera – pulling it up at the gym even with no service. #awesome

_______________________

Your turn:

Did you play sports in high school?

Have you ever joined an adult league ?

Any favorite new exercises found on Pinterest? 

Leave a Reply

