The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Dear blood-sugars: this is not how training is going to go.

Leave a comment

96.

A perfect blood-sugar for a morning workout.

Not low but low enough to prevent a  nasty spike from activity & lack of insulin.

After yesterday’s lackluster start to training I was looking forward to a 3 mile redemption run – my first run for my first training plan for my first 1/2 marathon. Big deal folks. Ok not so much, but I wanted to really push myself for those 3 miles.

A treadmill run, my mind over body usually dictates the speed & incline and I set for increasing both every 1/2 mile.

Spoiler alert: DNF . #fail.

At 1.5 miles when I was just about to bring it up to under a 10 min mile (an old average that has been lurking in the shadows lately) when it started going down hill. By the time I neared 2 miles I knew it was over. It was all I could do to grab my stuff, wipe down the machine (holy sweatiness) and try not to crawl back to the locker room. I couldn’t tell if my blood-sugar was 40 or 400 (more like 140). On machine it was perfect, internally not so much. I had that dizzy/nauseousness thing going on.

The diabetes has made me super sensitive to how my body is feeling all my life – but here’s the thing: runners get dizzy & nauseous (not usually at 2 miles at 11/12 minute pace…) – I’m going to have to learn what’s the diabetes & what’s normal / push through it / needs to be addressed differently (looking at you dehydration) running trials.

That’s part of this “adventure” – some mega research to do / support team to build.

So stellar start right ? Well when I step away from my pity party I realize that there’s going to be sucky days made far suckier by the diabetes. But that’s partly why I’m doing this – for when I can punch those moments in the face with those awesome days & accomplishments.

{pin}

Plus I feel a teeny tiny bit better with the fact that my glutes are feeling yesterdays strength training (I did something right?) and I have soccer tonight, a little unconventional but I’ll pick up that last mile.

Not to mention this has only just begun …

____________________

Favorite Finds

Happy Peanut Butter Day!

I currently am completely out of nutbutter (the whole ruined grocery shopping thing yesterday). I know, it’s a miracle I haven’t started having withdrawals yet.

Here are 5 reasons to love peanut butter from Yum Sugar – I have a few  several  more I could add.

Leave a Reply

