The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Is your refrigerator running?

Leave a comment

i will not ask where january went. i will not ask where january went. i will not ask where january went. I will not ask where january went. i will not ask where january went. 

It’s February! And I just wore a t-shirt on my night run. #loveit

This morning started off a little rough – once I saw it was rainy out I wussed out of my morning run knowing it was going to be a challenge to follow through this evening.

Than I discovered my fridge decided to stop working over night. Ice cube trays were water. So after an hour of figuring out how to be an adult & handle it … and leaving a voicemail with my super, I headed to the bodega to get 5 bags of ice which I crammed into the freezer with the already (no longer) frozen veggies & rescued my insulin & all the dairy including all the Chobani I just stocked up on. Important things people! 

The ice was still ice and the yogurt was still cold this evening so I figured I’m going back to the old age & utilizing an icebox. I hope I don’t get food poisoning. 

Starving when I got home, an almost dead iPhone and a blood-sugar that would need a boost for a run … it was easy to talk myself out of it. But I knew I would be mad at myself, especially after last week when so many off-set plans were out of my control, so I laced up the moment there was a break in my excuses.

{pin}

And than went out and dominated my run. 

2 miles were on the plan. I came up 1/2 mile short yesterday so I knew I wanted to tack that on if not go for 3 (there was a time when 3 was the norm). 

This time when RunKeeper told me I was pulling under 10 min miles I believed it:

Funny I had just pinned this from Women’s Running

{pin}

and once I knew it was possible all I could think of was keeping it under 9:20 …. I did 2.95 miles (yeah that missing .05 hurts) in 27:19 – average 9:15. I could have strongly rounded it off at 3 – I need to go back & study my routes apparently – especially since  3 miles are on the plan for tomorrow morning.

Oh and I most definitely know how to kick my own butt – my legs are feeling Monday nights  routine. Hopefully I can put together an equally good one for my quads tomorrow night.

Leave a Reply

