The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

When [will you run]

Leave a comment

If running is important to you, then your mind-set shifts from Can I find time for it? to When can I find time for it? You think in terms not of Will I run today? but When will I run today?

– Scott Douglas, author of The Little Red Book of Running via Runners World

That was the quote of the day from Runners World this morning. Which I received after a battle against the snooze button (again) in which it won (again). I knew that I would cranky this evening that I was forced to run after work now that I’ve gotten use to just crashing. But since I skipped yesterdays 2 miles there was no getting out of tonight. Not quite matching the mind-set but getting there…

Opting out of Wednesday morning was fairly warranted – my blood-sugar was over 500 after soccer which I of course over treated and woke up 27. Those are about as bad as it gets on either sides. Of course drenched in sweat and 1/2 asleep I over treated again (yes, a reoccurrence) and woke up in the 300s …which meant no run.

So my excuse for not making up for it Wednesday night? Despite mentioning that stress-management was my daily healthy effort I had a very (very) emotional day at work that left me drained and in bed at 9:30. Why yes, I did lose to the snooze button after going to bed ridiculously early.

Anyways….I had the whole idontwannaaaaa thing going on but after having one too many handfuls of PB Cheerios I told myself I had to be out the door by 8:30. Luckily my sneakers still make me happy and lacing up was a little easier.

When I used to run at night I ran in the East Village where I was always dodging people, running around the Upper East Side is not quite the same and I opted out of running along the river.

RunKeeper was lying to me again, whispering in my ear that I was running 8 minute miles.

I remapped it when I got home and it was 3.75 miles with an average pace of 10:13. I’ll go with it, there were moments I felt like the entire run was uphill but had a really strong finish at the end.

P.S. I love that in NYC I can finish a run, cool down for a block and stop into the grocery store not caring if I’m flushed/sweaty/seen. Freezer is still broken and I was starting to play roulette not icing my knee & groin so I stopped to pick up a bag…and peanut butter b/c 24 hours with out PB is too long.

_________________

Your turn:

Are you a morning or night runner?

 

 

Leave a Reply

