The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

3/29: Soccer

Leave a comment

Last Thursday was our second outdoor soccer game. While the first game was the earliest yet (7:30p) and it was warm & humid out, last week was freezing and at 9:15p. 

The moment I left the office and realized it was frigid in my dress, I knew I was in trouble since the only thing I had besides my shorts & t-shirt was my zip up which I wouldn’t be able to wear during the game.  

I had flashbacks of high school when we would beg to keep our warmups on during the game. Pleading for at least the pants. The sting of getting hit by the ball while frozen. 

So from the subway to the field I was in desperate search of getting creative. I knew there was CVS and I was willing to fleece sweatpants style if needed. Or get socks to somehow create arm warmers like this girl. I would have been able to cut socks with keys right??

I ended up with $9.99 black pants … didn’t really want to add to the collection of junk workout clothes but these were worth every penny! I also bought some form of leggings … just incase but those will be returned, even if they had a nice metal grey shine to them.

The cold makes me cranky & whiny. Which may be why I was a bit bratty on the field. I should have realized that if I’m limping while walking, perhaps running stop & go wouldn’t go so well. I felt like I was letting my team down – which I was … I wasn’t playing my best and let the frustration get to me which didn’t help any.  Forget high school, I felt like I was playing in middle school again, trying to hold back the tears because I was mad at myself.  

Silliness.  

Lucky we have this week off so I can pull it together. 

Leave a Reply

