The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

New Beginnings

Leave a comment

Ah life.

{source}

In the past two months I’ve:

– moved apartments

– was let go from my job

– completed my 1st 1/2 marathon 

– joined an outdoor league with my soccer team

– dealt with shin splints, groin strain, hip flexor silliness, IT Band issues & hip pain …. but not a stress fracture

– did early morning runs in Central Park

– ran a 5k on my birthday (in which I was 1st, last & only place since it was my solo birthday 5k).

– had plenty of brunches

– tried plenty of new coffee shops

– went to Hoboken for the 1st time

– exercised some serious self-control in not visiting 16 handles daily despite being closer to it

– put to use the fact that I’m now closer to Target …. but made do with the fact that I’m now further from a Trader Joe’s.

– finally used an oven (it’s only been about 2 years) and have worked on more “real” dinners.

– raised money for Team for Kids (only just begun!)

– started practicing yoga 5 day / week

– baked! (happening.right.now. vitalious chocolate muffin tops in the oven hopefully not sticking/not burning / rising  … all that usual stuff)

– signed up for my 2nd Girls on the Run 5K

– volunteered / will be volunteering at some kids activities with Urban Girl Squad

– met with a nutritionist … and started food journaling again. Sort of.

– learned how many supporters I have, even if it’s easy to forget  … and there’s quite a few!

– donated over 100 items … and got rid of almost as much

– played decorator, handyman & dyi-er … I think I’m most efficient at handyman.

– met new friends, connected with old ones and made fun dates with current ones.

I smell the chocolate tops….that mean it has to come out just as good right?!

– focused on my health … the specifics and the general.

– took a break from my magazine addiction

– started reading books….from the library

– got on the Tone It Up bandwagon (sort of)

– spent time with family

they didn’t burn! off to go see how they taste (I mean I couldn’t have screwed up a prepackaged mix that badly could I?) 

                                                   {source}

Leave a comment