The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

nnnnnNo!

Leave a comment

The time a child procedure turned me into a 26 yro child:

I got tubes put in my ears today for the 5th time. It’s like chicken pox & getting your tonsils out – more likely to happen during childhood. Which it did… twice. And two more times in college.

But never in NYC….loud noisy NYC.

The first time I got it done in college I was a Freshman and was in for a bit of sensory shock. It was Easter weekend and I remember being frightened about returning to the dorm where my loving but very loud new BFFs were. By senior year I played up the adjustment memory and it ended up being no big deal.

This time I had it done right in the doctor’s office, as opposed to the hospital. It was less stressful than a dentist visit. Left ear done, no sweat. Only then I was hit with that wave of a low feeling where it hits hard & washes over you. As the doctor began on the right ear I interrupted him to grab glucose tablets. Then while he was making a note I grabbed my monitor – 98. That’s not low. Took the tablets anyways. The doctor was awesome, made sure I was ok, got me water & a cold compress. Even though Diabetes isn’t his field (and you’d be surprised – just because they’re a doctor doesn’t mean they really know about one of the biggest current epidemics) he was aware. I haven’t actually been taken care of during a low in quiet sometime & as I told him, I was glad it happened while I was sitting in a chair vs. walking around the city.

So what was up? Who knows, could have been my body’s reaction to the procedure as much as bloodsugars – stuff that “regular” people might encounter but I recognize as low symptoms.

Where does the child part come in?

After the appointment I had a meeting, which aside from wanting earmuffs for the subway, went well. I think it was the first time I wanted a cool big pair of headphones. Instead I just wore my iPhone ones to muffle some noise (that’s right NYC I wasn’t really listening to anything).

All was fine & dandy. Until I get home. And crashed. Suddenly I’m a kid….who desperately needs a nap, I’m exhausted .By late afternoon I found myself with my hands over my ears scowling at the refrigerator for humming and the airplane outside for flying. And saying “nnnnnNo!” To no one or anything in particular.

Much like this kid (he gets favorite points for switching gears at the mention of ice cream). 

I was supposed to go to a networking event but finally I realized that no one wants a cranky two-year old at a grown up function….especially when the two-year old is actually 26.

{pin}

Leave a Reply

