The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Group Run: 5/20

Leave a comment

  Sunday was another group run with : 

                                 

                                                     &  

                        

Again I started to slow drop back, first a few steps behind the front of the pack but not quite with the second group. Then they were about a block ahead, finally all but one were out of eye view. There was one girl with a purple shirt that I recognized as being part of the group so I kept focused on her. It was as we hit the AIDS walk that I became separated from the pack so among the sea of red I focused on the glimpse of purple. Because she began a walk/run pattern I was finally able to catch up and we stuck it out together on the end. With my lovely sense of direction I thought we were on the north side of the reservoir slowly making our way west, feeling doomed because all the groups were suppose to gather back around now. Somehow I was completely off – we were still on the east side – and we quickly met up with them. 

I made sure to join in the group stretches this time. And not fake stretch either but really make sure I felt it. 

This week’s tied-in event was with Jack Rabbit….it introduced the gang to shoe analyze. Since I’m still on a pair that they fitted for me (and I love!) I went back to grab my purse. But I ended up going back to JR’s with some of the girls where I stocked up on fuel anyways.

The run was another reminder – I’d rather be pushing myself at the back of the pack than being ahead and not giving it my all! And truly, it’s these group runs that made me realize it. 

Leave a Reply

