The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Group Run: 6/2

Leave a comment

                                     First Team for Kids group/long run! 

                                      

                                              There’s a lot of people! 

We had our first group/long run on Saturday – 5 miles was on the plan. 

Meet up time was at 8:30 on the west side …I’ve been spoiled in that my only other run group is a handful of blocks from my apartment and meets at 10am. I was booking it to get there on time – realizing it wasn’t too smart to get out of breath before even starting. 

It was misty out and I wondered if my first run with them would be also my first run in the rain. It ended up holding off and the sun was fully shining by the end (note to self: it is never too early/cloudy for sunscreen)

After the welcome speeches we all headed out for a quick warm up jog and then gathered to stretch. Calisthenics style. Um I can’t remember the last time I did high-knees, butt kickers & quick steps … high school sports?  It made me a little nervous of what was to come. But all of the coaches were awesome and getting everyone moving & laughing. I could see there were newbies, friends joining together and people reconnecting – it was pretty cool to have such a broad range. 

We broke off into beginner, intermediate & advance. 

I made sure to stop at every water fountain rest (anytime we passed one) plus I had a water bottle with me. I also hung out in the back of the pack (becoming a new trend) which I was ok with, I’m trying to keep it conservative while bouncing back from injuries and building my endurance up. We’re early to start training for the marathon as it is and I have plenty time to catch up. 

One coach even commented how 5 miles is a lot for the beginners for the first run and stressed that walking is good. That said, with all the water stops I’m a little surprised that I stayed under 12 min average pace. 

I was really impressed that the head coach remembered me from the open house fun run and the fact that I was Diabetic and took the time to check in with me. I didn’t get a chance to alert all of the coaches like I had done at the open house but I will be telling as many people as possible just so they’re aware. When the one of the beginner coaches did introduce himself to me at around mile 4 I put it right out there “hi, I’m Whitney, I’m Diabetic.” It’s a classy opening. I then proceeded to reassure  him  that I had 2 forms of ID (medical alert bracelet & roadID), a debit card (incase I need to buy sugar), my phone, chomps & my meter.

I do not travel lightly. 

Leave a Reply

