The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Group Run: 6/3

Leave a comment

                             

Sunday was suppose to be a rest day but I couldn’t miss out on another group run with @UrbandGirlSquad & @Athleta_UES

Since Saturday was the first long run of training and I potentially have two soccer games this week, I made a deal with myself in that I could go but I’d take it easy. And here’s what I love about the group – I’ve gained the confidence to be completely ok with taking it easy.  

Despite my last run with them being not the best, I stuck with the intermediate group, trying to keep it conversational pace from the beginning. It was a wide range this time : 11 min – 8 min. 

I ended up chatting with someone new and we stuck with the same pace throughout the run. It was her first time with the group and a come back from a break in running. When we slowed down to a walk some where after mile 2  I was ok with that – I forgot my compression sleeves and was feeling the shin splints (but yay for no hip pain!).  

It was perfect weather – sunny but with a cool breeze (didn’t stop me from sweating!). The run was exactly what I’m trying to focus on – being ok to walk when needed, hydrating (I brought water!) and keeping control / not over pushing every time. Oh yeah – and having fun.  It became more about the social aspect than pushing myself as hard as I could, we chatted about Girls on the Run with one of the coaches (I’m a running buddy for the 5k next Sunday) and various volunteering stuff. 

We ended up knocking out

{planned for 3} 

Next run is June 17th – you should come!

Leave a Reply

