The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Yoga: Water Flow {6/18}

Leave a comment

Most of the yoga classes I take are Vinyasa. However, as I’ve increased my practice and started taking classes during the day I’ve explored my options. Mondays there’s a Hatha class at my gym, I’ve taken it a couple of times and didn’t notice much difference than a studio class. The instructor had a very familiar approach plus she used eucalyptus which is a relaxing touch. That said, I’m not overly dedicated to the time & class. However after some rough weekend runs I decided to go this week.  

There was a sub, apparently he had been there last week and would be there next and viewed it as a three part series in which each class would have a focus. This class was water flow and energy. Now, I don’t get too far into energies and the deeper spirituality of yoga but I am opened minded to it and usually just take away what works for me. 

I had a hard time really “getting” what he was saying in terms of energies …. but it didn’t bring out my bratty yoga face! Maybe it was the small class size, maybe it was the sincerity and knowledge that he demonstrated (he had the control and strength over poses that I aim for) or maybe it was having no expectations for the class. Who knows.

We started off the class with massages! Massaging our faces, legs (shin splits still suck) and shoulders (still ridiculously tight). 

It wasn’t like a class that I’ve ever taken before,  I didn’t even break a sweat! 

 I don’t know if I’ll go back next week, but I definitely prefer that over Monday’s evening potential : yoga boot camp lady!

Leave a Reply

