The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Group Run: 6/23

Leave a comment

This week we took it took to the road.

Our long runs so far have been around the bridle path but this week it led us out to the streets. Weaving in & out of everyone gearing up for the Pride Run

I don’t usually pay to much attention when they describe the routes for each groups – I figure there will always be someone ahead of me so I’ll just follow them. I also don’t grab one of the maps they hand out because honestly – I become a sweaty mess early on so I’d just ruin the paper, plus I already have plenty of stuff on me. 

After dropping my iphone several times (new armband where are you?!) in the beginning of the run RunKeeper was thrown off and I ended up just carrying the thing – not listening to music…a rarity. But it ended up being a nice change, I was running with a group so I wasn’t left listening to my own puffing or shuffle and with the race there was a lot going on to pay attention. 

Go figure that I made it through the race areas without losing the team but once we broke through it and hit 72nd street I lost sight. I was with one of the guys who I’ve synced up with in our past runs so we decided to go with our instinct and reroute ourselves. When we hit the meeting spot coming up short a mile we decided to go out half a mile and then circle back. Really we just wanted to run with the winner of the race (no not really but it was cool to observe close up). 

Leave a Reply

