The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

4th Fun

Leave a comment

Look I made something! Yes, it’s a simple summer fruit salad but I was highly proud of my efforts. I even had mint randomly in my fridge (what possessed me to buy it – I have no clue). By the way, that package of cherries was the best I’ve ever had – I’ll probably be headed back to the store tomorrow to get more. It also made me wish I had a cherry pitter. Inspired by this tip I used a straw … that lasted for about 5 cherries.  Silly thing is, I have chopsticks that would have worked. Oh well, it left more for me to eat.

{instagram}

I brought the fruit to a BBQ in Brooklyn … melted before getting on the subway but was able to pull myself together. Sort of.  Toto, we are most definitely in Williamsburg, pretty sure my blue floral H&M dress and I were not hip enough for this party. It was also probably a good thing that my hair was in a topnot because the lack of a haircut in over a year would probably given all of those hair stylists a heart attack.  But I love meeting new people and it was good to catch up with my cousin.

Plus I was introduced to this amazing invention …. how did I not know about this?

{source}

It will be bought today. And it better work.

{source}

Wednesday was a prescribed rest day. Apparently it was a sleep in day too as I totally ignored my alarms and slept until past 10am. When I was out getting  fruit I saw people out for their run and got a little sad – I felt left out that I wasn’t getting a workout in. But then I remembered that I did two yoga classes and 4 miles the day before …. a rest day was more than ok.  What wasn’t ok to skip was foam rolling, my right hamstring & glute has been adding up (oh yay, another one to add to the injury list) and while I’m not too sure where it came from I would like to make it go away….asap. So I got patriotic with my stick and a little massage therapy, also paying plenty of attention to my calves.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hope you had a wonderful 4th! 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

