The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Dear (left) kneecap,

Leave a comment

Dear (left) kneecap,

I’m sorry. Ever since that night (May 17th I believe)  in soccer when I slammed in the guy on the team, smashing you in to a shin guard or body part, you have taken quite the beating. It seems like there’s a gravitational pull to knocking you against something.

The moment it first happen I felt a sense of “oh crap what did I do?” because there were only a few games left and my main goal was to end the season injury free, ready for marathon training. While there was some intense throbbing you let me finish out the game (feeling tough might I add). I was in physical therapy at the time and in between games I thought about getting a knee pad to protect you – PT didn’t think it was a silly idea.

    though I kind of wish I had these :  {there’s such things as crawling knee pads??}

Boy was my outfit silly, hot pink compression sleeves, black knee pad & either yoga shorts or one time bright blue compression shorts (that was a sexy outfit).

Yes, one of those annoying self portraits … mostly for the vibrant one on the left…yes that is what I wore to soccer one night (our team shirt was the same blue color) + the knee pad. 

But it seems I need the knee pad even more off the field. I really did a number Memorial Day Weekend. You were still pretty painful, nothing like the usual knee pain – this had nothing to do with tendons and all about knee cap. I was out with friends on a boat (yay!) weary of any knee slapping – and trusted me – I moved hands many times as we were all squished in cars. Speaking of cars: the time we snuck a 5th person into a cab and she rested right on you – sorry about that, you weren’t too happy. Anyways, back to MDW, we were doing good until we stopped for lunch. As I climbed onto the dock I managed to slam you straight into the side of the boat. The little girl in front of me prevented me from some serious explicits. I made sure to get a cup of ice straight away at the bar, which wasn’t awkward at all, no not at all.

My physical therapist called me a klutz – he’s right. I have proceeded to hit you with my laptop numerous times, knock you into the bathroom wall, hit you on bathroom cabinet, as well as a few other corners. Never the right knee, oh no, only you, so that you are still bruised and have a lump after months.

Despite all that – thank youthankyouthank you for not interfering with my running! I have the rest of my knee ( and hip and groin and hip flexor and IT band to deal with …wow left side, really??) to deal with.

I promise to keep on icing you (you get more love the rest above when it comes to icing/heating) and wearing the knee pad for yoga…I know we’re still trying to figure out all those lunges but my hip flexor really needs them. I’m ok with holding off on crow pose.

Look, I’ve even started to use the knee pad as a mat holder so that I wouldn’t forget it. Pretty nifty of me if I do say so myself. And why yes, that is my own little PT corner.

So I’m sorry left knee cap, I really really don’t mean to be beating you up. Let’s work together to get healed up pretty soon ok?

{source}

– me

Leave a Reply

