The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

{running distraction} : counting light posts

Leave a comment

When I used to run along 1st avenue and the East River I filled it with markers. 20 blocks until a mile, 7 blocks until this cross over, this point along the river is this many blocks, this store means this much further.

Markers, countdowns, comparisons and judgements.

One major shift during training has been letting go of that. With my TFK runs I may pay attention to landmarks and recognize  where I am (at times no clue!)  but they don’t serve as markers. I’m on new routes and with new running buddies.

Switching to Central Park has made it easier to throw myself off. That said, most of my SloFasy runs have been
around the reservoir. ~1.5 miles. I don’t pay attention to where I am when I hit a mile…or a quarter of a mile…or 3/4. It’s easy to catch on but I distract myself.

While other runners are good entertainment, it loses it’s luster when they’re all going past you.

When I first got my Garmin I was nervous that I would get even more obsessed with numbers but surprisingly not the case. I realized its much like how I frequently check my phone for the weather or time but rarely can tell you what I just read. I check in which my pace and quickly focus on how I feel and effort level vs. the number – major step.

That said, in an effort to prevent from creating markers, checking my Garmin out of boredom or start a mind war with myself, I started the light post game.

 

{image via pin}

I count light posts. Not in the 1,2,3 kind of way…well sort of. I’ll pick a number, say 5, and after 5 light posts I can check my  Garmin. Now I know that sounds like marking, but here’s where the game comes in: only lit posts count, I change the number (5,15,10,5,20, ect though now I’m starting to just pick random numbers), and I can easily get thrown off count. This prevents it from being “5 light posts is at this point which is x of a mile.” I also will not look at my Garmin when it hits a mile but wait until I reach that light post.

So far it’s keeping me entertained though I think I’ll need to shake up the game soon.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Do you play (fun) mind games when you workout?

 

Count anything? Aside from light posts I think other people are my only other option.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Leave a Reply

