The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Summer Saturday Firsts

Leave a comment

I slept until 9:30 on Saturday – the first time not being rudely awaken by my alarm clock before 5:30am all summer.

When I woke up I wasn’t quite sure what to do with myself. I knew I’d be meeting a friend for coffee soon enough but we hadn’t set a time.

Gone was the ritual of pre long run.

It was also my first Saturday in August that I was staying in the city.

So what to do when you don’t need to have the usual toast & PB and have some spare time?

Cook pancakes for the first time in months (and like the 5th time in years).

I found a simple recipe off my Pinterest board and adapted it (really chefing it up).

I used oatbran since I didn’t have oats, 1 scoop of protein powder (Sunwarrior Vanilla, 1 scoop = 70 calories vs. her 100 for 1/2) & omitted the stevia (trying to cut out the sugar / sugar substitute s where I can!).

20120827-103204.jpg

Clearly these look nothing like Dashing Dish’s crepes. These were straight up pancakes and they were yummy. Thick and cakey.

Growing up I used to fear pancakes at slumber parties and such since it was carbs and hard to calculate, usually a serving surpassed my allocation and what slumber party breakfast has perfect servings??

So I steered away from them. And I never got syrup – not the real kind anyways. Though I wasn’t much for the fake stuff either and it wasn’t an option at my dad’s house …. a teeny tiny bit of honey was all I got. Oddly I never got into butter and jam was equally threatening. So I learned to like pancakes dry.

Since these were so thick I didn’t do the yogurt filling, plus I just wasn’t craving it. Perhaps one day I’ll look up a no-sugar glaze type recipe (any suggestions??) to go with it.

This morning I made them again! Before coffee and before even putting my contacts in (that might be considered a fire hazard)! I tossed in some of the fresh cherries that I’ve been obsessing over this summer. Out of kitchen tools I never thought I’d need – I definitely would have made use with a cherry pitter!

20120827-222941.jpg

Ignore the coffee grounds on the counter … contacts still weren’t in yet. 

 

So what else made  it a Saturday of firsts? 

Finally having a coffee date with a friend who lives a block below me…..and plotting Color Run logistics.

Meeting a friend’s boyfriend finally – love when I get to meet the person behind all the stories.

Meeting new babysitting charges …. these kids are serious soccer players !

Not having to get on a bus and letting plans evolve naturally   – love when it all links up together!

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Your turn:

Are you love a pancake lover ? 

Syrup ? Real or Fake? Butter? 

Favorite pancake recipe ? 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

