The Adventures of Now

exploring the mix of fun, fitness & health…as a diabetic

Monday Motivation: Vision

Leave a comment

I’m going to preface this with the fact that since it is still January I’m justifying that I’m going to talk about my plan for the new year, 2013. 

Last year I ditched the resolutions and went for a verb to describe 2012, I picked structure. Oh the irony. While I may have found structure in a marathon training plan, pretty much everything else was tossed up in the air. It was liberating, it was challenging, it was full of opportunity, struggles and new adventures. I knew I needed a change, I just wasn’t sure what exactly and in what way. I found my change, in a few different ways.

This year I think I’ve pinpointed it a little better, this year I’m picking VISION.

I’m going off two definitions of vision:

vi·sion

[vizh-uhn]

noun

1.
the act or power of sensing with the eyes; sight.
2.

the act or power of anticipating that whichwill or may come to be:

dictionary.com

Let’s look at the straight forward one first : eyes; sight. With Diabetes you tend to be more sensitive / at higher risk / more susceptible to various health concerns. Vision healthcare being one of those. I once had a doctor tell me I should get my A1C level under control if I ever wanted to consider Lasik, sure Doc, it’s not like I’ve been trying or anything. Anyways, this past fall an eye infection (PSA: Daily contacts are just that, dailies, don’t turn them into weeklies) led to a new best friend relationship with my eye doctor. It was tough love at first but it worked. She got me to step away from the contacts (threats of blindness works pretty well) and I even ran my 18 miler in glasses. It’s been a few months of work and some serious vision attention as I was also diagnosed with chronic dry eyes which led to a few more prescriptions, a lot more glasses wearing and a more extended bedtime ritual (there’s eye drops and pill and needles – it’s a sexy time).  But yay for getting a job well done on my last visit!

Now for the other vision(s):

As much as I’m addicted to Pinterest, I’ve often had a hard time in laying out my visions. I am much better at repining something, ripping it out of a magazine (oh you should see the piles) or just generally liking it, rather than creating a vision.

But 2013 brings the year of vision – and I’ve got a lot of them.

First up : Boston.

March 1st I’m heading north to Boston to reunite with some of my best friends and start a new path. There are still many (major) details to be worked out but given my current state of life, there couldn’t be a better time for a change of course and new beginnings. I hesitated towards Boston for quite some time but I couldn’t be more ready for it now.

I’m already envisioning decorating my new (yet to be found) apartment. I have moved around a lot growing up. I believe I counted 27 places up to this point – and no one was in the army and many of those were all in the same school district (thank you parents). I’ve had a handful of apartments in NYC – all with their own charm and quirks. I’m ready to play house in a place of my own. Since housing in Boston is um shall I say a bit more selective than NYC, given that most listings don’t open up until September, I’m looking into a sublease until then which will give me enough time to get steady on my feet up there and hopefully find a place to myself. So I have a growing wish list of home items and decorating ideas – finally a full vision to pull it all together.

Second : Job

Boston provides many new opportunities. It was realizing that Boston has a growing sector of my interested industries that reassured me that this was the right move. Since my role was eliminated back in April I’ve really been able to evaluate and analyze and re-evaluate and re-analyze what interests me, what motivates me, what I excel at, what I’m passionate about and how they all intertwine.  At first I freaked out that it wasn’t this one giant picture in front of me. I’m determined and hard-working, shouldn’t I know?  Then I realized that it is ok to have a few different interests. It doesn’t make me scattered or unfocused. So at the beginning of the month I finally broke it down, in acceptance, appreciation and passion.

Design&Events || Marketing&Consumer Behavior || Health&Wellness                                                                                                                                      

And if you look at it, all three of those can connect, or collaboration could be created by two, or each can stand alone. The fun is exploring all of those options.

So while it may not be as defined as which book ends I want or what throw pillows would go nice with a navy couch, I’m creating a different kind of moodboard when it comes to building a career.

Three : Fitness

ooaf.  This is equal parts of a vision for my physical future and remembering the vision of health from this summer.

This vision is still being shaped but one major step was selecting a refund from NYRR rather than running next year (or 2014, 2015). How is that a step forward you ask? It frees up some much needed funds, prevents unwisely spending at the moment and frees me up to look forward and discover new goals and races. While I can’t start whipping out my credit card for every race out there, or really any still at this moment, I do have my eyes on one important one : the Chicago Marathon. Heading to Boston, I’m excited to discover new running opportunities. I have been touched by so many TFK’ers that will always be with me and have so many memories in Central Park but it’s revitalizing to look forward to new things.  While I should be able to maintain my same gym membership when I move, I get to explore new classes and teachers.

Finally, fourth: Health

{image}

Oh, so true. And I’ve never questioned it otherwise. I’ve grown up knowing it was my responsibility. I faced new challenges in 2012, questioning my attention and decision-making, all the while digging down to show my strength and trust in my body – inside and out. I’m actually really looking forward to building a new network of doctors. Lots of them. Boston offers some major opportunities in healthcare and while I can’t say for sure I’ll be knocking on the Joslin Clinc’s door, I’m ready to take an even more proactive approach and really find the doctors who can help me achieve my optimum health. I want to find doctors that take a collaborative approach and can appreciate my health for all that there’s to be grateful for while helping me to manage the many small challenges it throws at me.

Leave a Reply

